Call Us: 770-339-4333
Toll Free: 866-226-0169

Auto Insurance Coverages Explained - Part 1

What Are Georgia’s Minimum Car Insurance Requirements?

Drivers in Georgia are required by law to carry Liability insurance.

that meets the state’s minimum limits. As Georgia is an at-fault state, this coverage will provide protection and compensation for other parties in accidents you cause. The minimum amount of coverage required is split into three categories and written as 25/50/25. The required coverages and limits include:

  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident
  • $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident

Keep in mind that liability insurance coverage doesn’t cover your property or any injuries to yourself or your passengers in the event of a car accident. If you’re found at-fault in an accident and meet the limits of your coverage, you’re responsible for covering any additional damages or medical bills for the other party. 

We recommend considering a full-coverage policy for more comprehensive protection for your own vehicle. This includes both Collision coverage and Comprehensive coverage on top of the liability insurance required by the state.


Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance in Georgia

According to the Georgia Department of Revenue, driving without auto insurance is a misdemeanor under state car insurance law. If you’re convicted of a misdemeanor in Georgia, you face a fine of between $200 and $1,000, up to 12 months in jail or both. It’s considered a crime to make a false statement concerning your insurance coverage, and this is also treated as a misdemeanor.

The Insurance Research Council estimates that in 2019, the nationwide uninsured driver rate was 12.6%. Approximately 12.4% of drivers on the road were uninsured in Georgia that same year, falling just shy of the national average.

What Happens If My Insurance Coverage Lapses in Georgia?

If you let your insurance coverage lapse in Georgia, you’ll receive a notice from the Department of Revenue informing you of this lapse, and you’ll be subject to a reinstatement fine. If the fine is not paid and no new insurance information is provided within 30 days, your vehicle’s registration will be suspended. Driving with suspended registration in the state of Georgia is considered a misdemeanor.

We will continue with Part 2 of Auto Insurance explained in our next blog post. Let Danny Knight Agency help you with your auto insurance needs. Contact us anytime, 770-339-4333 or